This is the perfect time of year to access the most popular study aids to help you succeed in all your exams!
The most recent edition of the Study Aids in print format are kept in the Reserve collection behind the Circulation Desk. You can access even more online. The Law Library subscribes to the Lexis Digital Library and Aspen Learning Library. Users can access West Academic through the Texas State Law Library.
As always, library staff members are more than willing to assist you on how to access these resources.
Lexis Digital Library contains Carolina Academic Press study aids:
· Questions & Answers
· Mastering
· Skills & Value
· Understanding Series
Aspen Learning Library provides access to the most popular study materials on the market :
· Casenote Legal Briefs
· Emanuel Crunchtime
· Emanuel Outlines
· Examples & Explanations
· Glannon Guides
ACCESS IS FREE when you log in and register through the library’s Electronic Resources web page. Use the personalized account info created during this process to access these resources for free on the app or other devices.
Check out this semester's featured Collection Highlights! Items featured from our collection by subject matter and/ or may reflect Awareness months.
Register for a free Texas State Law Library account online at https://www.sll.texas.gov/about-us/get-a-library-account/ to gain access to their electronic resources where you will discover the following databases:
· West Academic provides:
· Hornbooks
· Nutshells
· Myriad of e-books on various legal topics
· Fastcase
· Gale Legal Forms
· Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)
· Legal Information Source (EBSCO)
· U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline)
A new edition of The Greenbook has been recently published. The Greenbook supplements the Bluebook with citation issues that are unique to Texas. You should follow it when citing Texas authorities.
The 16th edition of The Greenbook includes:
· Guidance for citation to cases from the Fifteenth Court of Appeals and the Texas Business Court. See Rule 4 & Rule 7.1.1.
· Removed the requirement to designate “mem. op.” and “per curiam” for civil cases. See Rule 4.1.2.
· Standardizes the abbreviation for “county” in line with national conventions. See Rule 7.2.
· Eliminates the “Ann.” designation requirement for annotated reprints of codified statutes. See Rule 10.2.1.
· Allows users to cite from databases hosted by the Texas Legislative Council and the Legislative Reference Library of Texas. See Rule 10.5.
· Provides detailed guidance regarding citation to gubernatorial proclamations and expands the range for sources from which proclamations may be cited. See Rule 14.7.2.
· Illustrates how to format pincites in citations to Attorney General Opinions and Secretary of State Advisory Opinions. See Rule 15.
· Requires greater specificity for cites to Texas Administrative Code in order to make these sources more accessible to users relying on public databases. See Rule 16.1.1.